Eviction Services Near Me: 3 Tips on Evictions
If you are a tenant in Riverside, CA, you must know that a landlord can start the eviction process on various grounds, the main ones being the tenant failing to pay rent, violating the lease or rental agreement, or committing an illegal act.
If you are dealing with a similar situation and “eviction services near me” is on top of your online searches, then you are in the right place. Below we gathered some of the most useful tips to postpone or stop the eviction notice.
1. Understanding your eviction notice
The first tip on how to stop the eviction notice might be obvious: start with understanding it. For a tenant to be evicted legally, the landlord has to first serve a written notice asking for any due rental amount to be paid, fix a lease violation or leave the property.
In California, the landlord can serve one of the following types of eviction notices: a three-day notice to pay rent, a three-day notice to cure, a thirty-day or 60-day notice to quit(only for a month-to-month rental agreement) and a three-day unconditional quit notice. If you are on a fixed-term tenancy and none of the above reasons applies to you, remember that the landlord can’t end the tenancy without cause until the end of the term.
2. The rental property is considered uninhabitable
A landlord must maintain his rental property to what is considered to be a minimum habitable standard. The place you rent is considered uninhabitable under the following circumstances: if it doesn’t have hot and cold running water, is not connected to a sewage disposal system, have gas facilities in working order, weather protection of the roof, plumbing issues or lack of a working electrical system. If any of these apply to your case, be aware that it is unlawful for your landlord to evict you and you can exercise your right to withhold rent. Should you need further legal advice on the matter, you can find reliable eviction services in Riverside CA who would be happy to help.
3. Landlord violates your privacy rights
If you’re renting a property in California, you have the right to “quiet enjoyment” by federal law, and this clause is mentioned in your tenancy agreement This means that, if your landlord or building manager is showing up unannounced or is letting himself or herself in the property for no valid reason and without prior notice,(under California state law, your landlord must give you 24 hours’ notice to enter your property) it is a violation of your privacy and the eviction notice cannot go ahead.